Close Menu
Litigation, P.C. Law Firm
Los Angeles Litigation Law Firm 424-284-2401

Redondo Beach Wage & Hour Claim Lawyer

Most California workers are protected by certain laws governing minimum wage, overtime pay, meal breaks, and related wage and hour issues. Employers who fail to follow these laws can be held legally accountable, not only by California officials but also by individual employees. Indeed, you can sue an employer who fails to pay you in accordance with the law and obtain financial damages.

If you know–or even suspect–that your employer is not playing by the rules, your first step should be to contact a qualified Redondo Beach wage and hour claim lawyer. At Litigation, P.C., we represent workers throughout Los Angeles County who have been illegally denied minimum wage and overtime pay, or whose employers have otherwise failed to fully comply with state labor laws. We can advise you as to your rights and assist you in suing an employer who remains non-compliant.

Know Your Rights Under California Labor Law

Workers classified as “non-exempt employees” are entitled to receive a specified minimum wage for every hour worked. As of January 1, 2023, California’s minimum wage will be $15 per hour for all non-exempt employees. Some California cities and counties may have higher minimum wage requirements.

In addition to the minimum wage, California law also requires an employer to provide overtime pay to non-exempt employees. Overtime is equal to one-and-a-half times an employee’s normal pay rate for any work in excess of 8 hours per workday or 40 hours per workweek, as well as the first 8 hours worked on the seventh day of a workweek. In some cases, overtime pay is double the employee’s normal wage. This “double time” rule applies to any work in excess of 12 hours per workday or any hours worked in excess of 8 on the seventh day of a workweek.

Non-exempt employees are also entitled to a meal break of at least 30 minutes if they are scheduled to work at least 5 hours in a workday, and a second 30-minute meal break if they are scheduled to work at least 10 hours on a given day. California further requires employers to give non-exempt employees a 10-minute rest break for every 4 hours worked.

If your employer has violated any of these laws, you can file a civil lawsuit under the California Labor Code. In many cases, multiple employees may join together in filing such suits. When successful, a court can order an employer to pay damages equal to any unpaid minimum wage or overtime compensation (with interest) and the employee’s legal fees and court costs. In cases where employers fail to provide mandatory meal or rest breaks, the court may award damages equal to one hour’s pay at the employee’s normal rate for each workday where they did not receive the proper break periods.

Contact Litigation, P.C. Today

Many workers are intimidated by the prospect of suing their employer, even when they know they have been cheated out of wages and other legally mandated benefits. That is why it is essential to work with a skilled Redondo Beach wage and hour claims lawyer who will fight on your behalf. Contact Litigation, P.C., today to schedule a free initial consultation with a member of our California employment law team.